A TikTok Video Made Me Question My Faith in Humanity

Did I just watch someone try to swindle their dead uncle at the bank?

Rui Alves
ENGAGE

--

A person’s hand holding a smartphone showing the TikTok app opening screen.
Photo by Olivier Bergeron on Unsplash

I’ve received a lot of backlash for believing a bit too much in the goodness of humankind. But now and then, even I lose faith when faced with the hideous stunts humans pull off.

The case of the woman who brought her dead “uncle” to the bank in a wheelchair was all the rage throughout the week.

I heard about this story on every news channel, but what shocked me was seeing the macabre video on TikTok.

Even before getting to the actual story, I have to ask how the heck this type of content was even allowed on TikTok.

I’m just guessing, but who knows how many young kids will end up watching this highly disturbing video?

Just another day at the bank

What happened last Tuesday in a bank in Bangu, a neighborhood in the West Zone of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, makes me wonder where we’re headed in terms of moral values.

The story is disturbing and when I think about it, I can’t even imagine how the video made by the bank staff ended up on social media, was allowed to spread, be distributed by the algorithms, and is now going viral.

--

--

Rui Alves
ENGAGE
Editor for

Language teacher, linguist, life coach, published author (joined the Army and worked for the EU). A publisher, digital ronin, musician and alchemist of sound.