After the Worst Breakup of My Life, I Was Asked to Write a Love Poem

It was a love I hadn’t given my partner, or myself.

James Lloyd
ENGAGE

--

Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

The relationship spanning my entire adult life ended.

It had been a hard relationship, one I had always fought for. She struggled with low self-esteem and her insecurity could manifest in cruel ways.

It’s hard to love someone who doesn’t love themselves.

Things got better for a while and she seemed happier and more self-assured. We were about to buy a house together, and the only thing left to do was sign.

Then it ended. She couldn’t do it anymore.

I knew it was something I had done wrong. Nothing I ever did was enough for her.

In the process, I lost my friends and the future I had planned. I was left with a soul-crushing job I had taken to get a mortgage I no longer needed. I didn’t really know who I was.

I had moved in with a couple of friends and settled into my misery when I got a message from my brother, Freddie.

Freddie was getting married to the love of his life in a couple of months, and he asked me to write a poem for their wedding.

--

--

James Lloyd
ENGAGE
Writer for

Exploring mental health, relationships and following my bliss through my transformative experience walking around the coast of Great Britain.