At the Summit of Mt. Ararat: Making Little Me Happier

Since childhood, it has been my dream to climb Mount Ararat

Vera Mirzoyan
ENGAGE
9 min readAug 17, 2024

--

At the Summit of Mt. Ararat: Making Little Me Happier
All photos by the author

And once again I was convinced that if it is meant to be, it will be.

Since childhood, it has been my dream to climb Mount Ararat. At first, it was something unreal and I didn’t even imagine it may come true one day. But when I started hiking in Armenia, gradually it became more and more realistic. So, it stopped being a dream, but a destination. (I think I don’t have dreams any longer. Is it something good or bad? no idea…).

Me and Mt. Ararat from Armenia
Me and Mt. Ararat from Armenia

I had been waiting for that day to go to my destination for months. But when it got closer, I had some doubts. I didn’t feel like I wanted to go hiking as I didn’t get the same emotions and thought maybe this wasn’t what I was waiting for. In any case, when the time came to make a decision I chose to go for my childhood dream and make little me happier.

Acclimatization at Mount Aragats

Of course, I couldn’t join any other hiking club but Trichq.

A few days ago, before the journey would begin, as a group of Ararat dreamers, we went camping in Mount Aragats for an acclimatization. This was a great idea to make our bodies get used to the height. We had a hiking day in a few summits on the Aragats mountain range before we reached Lake Kari where we had a camp at 3200 meters above sea level. We made omelets with tomatoes, played games, sang songs, and danced Armenian national dances around a campfire before going to sleep. After midnight at 3 o’clock, we started to climb the Southern Peak of Mt. Aragats. So we were at the summit at sunrise. In this way, we had an experience on a night hike as well (it was going to help us in Ararat).

sunrise at Aragats

Besides the importance of acclimatization, this camping weekend was also very fun and the group of crazy hikers got closer before the trip.

From Armenia to the Biblical Mountain

Mount Ararat is considered to be the place where Noah’s Ark landed (according to the Bible). Once this mountain was the highest point in the Armenian Highland. Although not located in the borders of the current Armenia any longer, Ararat is still a symbol of Armenia — the first country that adopted Christianity as the state religion.

Nowadays you can see Mt. Ararat (Masis and Sis or Big and Small Ararats) in Armenia and foreigners usually think it is located in the territory of current Armenia, but actually, it is in so-called Western Armenia (nowadays Turkey).

Mt. Ararat from Mt. Gayledzor
Me and Mt. Ararat from Mt. Gayledzor

So, if you plan to climb Mt. Ararat, I recommend doing it with Armenian people. You will get lots of emotions besides just ascending to a 5000+ meters mountain.

It was 4 AM on 19 July when we packed all the necessary staff and sat off to the Mountain. From Yerevan, we left for the Armenian-Georgian border and then for the Georgian-Turkish border. Although Armenia and Turkey are located next to each other, the border isn’t open and we had to drive through Georgia.

me in the Georgian-Turkish border, carrying my heavy staff
me in the Georgian-Turkish border, carrying my heavy staff

The first stop was Kars — the ancient Armenian city with its fortress and St. Arakelots church which is converted to a mosque; it is very depressing to see the Christian church as a mosque.

Then we headed to the city of Bayazet (Doğubayazıt) and stayed in a hotel. This is the city on the slopes of Ararat.

Climbing Mount Ararat First Camp: Day 1 (up to 3200 meters)

On the first day, we had breakfast in the hotel and left for the mountain. A car took us to the slopes of the mountain — 2200 meters above sea level. This was the place from where we started trekking with a backpack covering the staff we needed for a few hours’ hike.

Some horses carried our heavy stuff (clothes and shoes, sleeping bags, etc. we didn’t need before the first camp).

Climbing Mount Ararat First Camp

The first camp of Ararat is located at 3200 meters above sea level. It took a few hours (if I’m not mistaken, about 4–5 hours) to reach this camp. The mountain was in clouds all the way long and we couldn’t enjoy the view to the summit. However, I kept reminding myself about where I was: “Be aware of where you’re walking”.

me in the first camp of Ararat, 3200
me in the first camp of Ararat, 3200

The first camp was ready for us with a table full of the tastiest sweets and tea. However, the weather wasn’t so kind. It was cold, it was raining and thunderstorms. Later we had dinner; one of our friends was playing the guitar and singing. So we enjoyed the evening and went to sleep in the tents.

first camp of Ararat is located at 3200
The first camp (3200) and the summit of Mt. Ararat in clouds

Climbing Mount Ararat Second Camp: Day 2 (up to 4200 meters)

The second day in Ararat was early. I woke up at 5 AM and enjoyed the views of the summit as well as the territory of Western Armenia. Then the sun rose and it was very sweet to be sunkissed.

Climbing Mount Ararat Second Camp

After having breakfast at the camp, we organized our stuff and started trekking to the second camp. Again the horses carried the heavy things.

In the afternoon we were in the second camp which is located at 4200 meters above sea level. It was 1000 meters of relative height in about a 3 km hike (about 3 hours). Above 4090 meters (the highest peak I reached was the North Peak of Mt. Aragats: 4090m.) each step became a record of height for me.

Although it wasn’t an easy hike we were full of energy. The weather was very nice and sunny, and we were above the clouds with breathtaking views.

Mount Ararat Second Camp

Before I didn’t feel good above 4000 meters. I had a fear I might feel sick again, but I kept thinking that I should go higher and stay there, so my organism would get used to the height. And everything was as expected. The acclimatization at Aragats worked. I was feeling great. The girl wearing a yellow jacket was happy.

We had lots of fun, sang songs, played games and went to sleep at 6 PM as we had to wake up at midnight.

Climbing Mount Ararat: to the Summit: Day 3 (5137 meters)

We had a midnight “breakfast” and headed to the summit at 1 AM. We walked on the stones for hours followed by the silhouette of Mount Sis (Small Ararat).

It was not easy to walk in the dark, especially when the weather was cold. And during the dawn, it was freezing, and I wanted to sleep.

We continued to go up and above 4800 meters I had a bad headache but I knew something — I had to go on and step on the summit. And one of my friends supported me a lot.

Climbing Mount Ararat: to the Summit

A little later the sun rose and the weather became warmer.

During the sunrise the shadow of Mt. Ararat was following us. It was very impressive.

shadow of Mt. Ararat

We wore ice cleats on our boots to support us on the snowy summit. It wasn’t easy to go up and higher when I was touched and had a bad headache. But of course, I reached the summit, and I reached crying.

On 22 July, 2024 at 6:20 AM I was at the summit of Mt. Ararat.

5137 meters was powerful.

At the summit of Mt. Ararat
Our group at the summit of Mt. Ararat

The weather was great, and the views were clear and fascinating to Mt. Sis, Western Armenia, as well as the Republic of Armenia. Mt. Aragats and Geghama Mountain range were visible.

Mt. Sis from the summit of Mt. Ararat
Mt. Sis from the summit of Mt. Ararat

I was full of emotions; happiness mixed with sadness, pride with regret, and win with loss. Even now I haven’t digested all my emotions and will still need time to realize my feelings.

me on the summit of Ararat, 5137
me on the summit of Ararat, 5137

My emotions on the Summit of Ararat

Descent from Mount Ararat

Getting down from Mount Ararat was faster. We stayed at the summit for about an hour and then started the descent.

We reached the second camp at 4200 meters. Here we had tea and my friend gave me corn. It was very delicious.

Corn at Mount Ararat second camp

Then we gathered all our things so that the horses could carry them and we also continued our way to the first camp at 3200 meters.

In the first camp, we ate omelets with tomatoes, had rest, and went on to 2200 meters where the car was waiting to take us to Bayazet. Before setting off, we had earned fresh watermelons after a great hiking experience.

watermelons after a great hiking experience

We arrived at the hotel in Bayazet where we could have a bath after a few days of wildlife. Then it was time to celebrate the ascend.

Cheers to the dreams of little me coming true )))

The next day, we left Bayazet for Armenia; again the same way through Georgia. We had a stop in Ani — the ancient Armenian capital city of a thousands and one churches.

Food in Mount Ararat

You won’t be hungry in Mt. Ararat. The food is delicious and there’s enough.

Food in Mount Ararat

You get breakfast like omelets, boiled eggs, cheese, sweets, jams, honey, etc. During lunch, you have some sandwiches and for dinner, they offer soup with something else to eat (like rice, chicken, lamb, etc.). And then again some sweets and fruits.

Also, there’s always tea, coffee, and water to drink or to take with you.

So, there is something delicious to enjoy for every taste.

Mt. Ararat Changed My Life

When I was planning to climb Ararat, I considered it to be just a hiking experience for me. Of course, I knew I would have different emotions as well. But I didn’t have an idea it was meant to change my whole life. Mt. Ararat gave me lots of feelings and people; people who matter.

Mt. Ararat Changed My Life

Maybe one day I will clearly understand my emotions. At that time, I’ll update this blog and share with you more details.

To Sum Up

I would like to say something: if you think about doing it or not, do it.

At the end of the day, we regret the chances we didn’t take.

Mt. Ararat from Bayazet
Mt. Ararat from Bayazet

So, just gather your hiking stuff and go for new adventures. Who knows what life prepares for you…

* If you understand Armenian language, you may check out my reel where I talk about the whole journey to Ararat. And even if you don’t understand, you will get lots of emotions through my videos.

My reel about the journey to Ararat

* On my Instagram page, you’ll also find a highlight “Mt. Ararat” where you may find lots of videos and photos that will help you visualize all I was talking about above. Don’t miss it…

--

--

Vera Mirzoyan
ENGAGE

The Sunflower Girl 🌻I never try to find more readers for my writings, but I try to write the best writing for my readers! ig: sunflo.wer___