Breaking Free from Financial Chains in 2024

Rewiring from poverty to FIRE to abundance

Tabitha Warren
ENGAGE

--

woman with single dollar
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

For years, my husband and I have practiced financial independence retire early (FIRE). This movement has faced a lot of scrutiny. Some people have touted it as setting them free. They have credited it with fixing their terrible financial ways and setting them on the straightened arrow.

A great many people have escaped horrible jobs that were the center of their lives. They are at liberty to work or not work. To take part-time work or sabbaticals. To stress less about their financial lives.

On the other end of the spectrum, some people say that the movement has put them in a financial prison. They are terrified to spend a cent. It locked them away from enjoying life. They have become frugal prisoners destined to only enjoy their financial well-being “someday.”

A little about me, I grew up with a mother that was extremely mentally ill. She wasn’t diagnosed until I was 19. I have two brothers. One is eleven months older than me. The other is eleven years and eleven months younger than me. Our mother beat and tormented my older brother and me during our entire childhood.

She had us do anything and everything to add money to the household while hardly working herself. I’ve seen her social security…

--

--