Engage Writing Challenge: January 2024— New Year’s Resolution Is Stress For Me

New Year's Resolutions is stress I can do without, and so can you!

Annelise Lords
ENGAGE
Published in
4 min readJan 30, 2024

--

Seagull over the water at sunset.
Sunrise in Jamaica. Image by Annelise Lords

Enjoying Engage Writing Challenge: January 2024 and Rui Alves subtitle said:

Gaze into the horizon of past and New Year resolutions

What do resolutions mean? Collins Dictionary says it means; a promise to yourself to do or to not do something.

Gazing into my past and New Year's resolutions, I am not a big fan of it. The last one I made was to maintain focus. I did keep it, but after the side effects of COVID-19, I had to find a new way to help myself. I have seen many adults make them, and struggle to maintain them. Then eventually failed. Then restart again the next year and keep repeating the same behavior year after year adding stress, pain, and frustration to their lives that eventually end up in failure.

Why?

All of us know someone who makes resolutions, struggles to maintain them, and then fails months…

--

--

Annelise Lords
ENGAGE

Helping you is Healing me! Let's heal each other through our inspirational power of words. thisisanneliselords@mediumauthor.com https://www.etsy.com/shop/Artist