FRIEND OF MEDIUM

How I Finally Took My Medium Membership to the Next Level

Everything about Medium’s new ‘Friend of Medium’ membership tier and how it empowers you to support our community

Rui Alves
ENGAGE
Published in
8 min readNov 30, 2023

--

A writer, writing something down on a notebook while considering signing up for the new “Friend of Medium” membership on Medium.com
Photo by Rawpixel on FreePik

The “Friend of Medium” upgrade has been an emotional rollercoaster for the empath in me. I have to say this carried a lot more friction than I expected when I first read Alex Benzer’s story.

The cat had only been out of the bag for a couple of hours, and being among the first to read it, I thought I had that sweet tote literally in the bag.

I’m still upset with myself for missing out on the limited-edition tote bag for the first three days of my subscription, so please forgive me for all the bad-bag jokes in this story.

For once, I wasn’t going to miss the bandwagon, and I was just a click away from being among the first 500 subscribers who would get that coveted tote bag.

I clicked on the membership link in Alex’s story, and it turned out to be a dud for me, even though it was working for several people, as I could read in the comments.

Darn! There was nothing there—just my membership settings page telling me I’m still set with my current plan.

--

--

Rui Alves
ENGAGE
Editor for

Language teacher, linguist, life coach, published author (joined the Army and worked for the EU). A publisher, digital ronin, musician and alchemist of sound.