Improve your Life by Focusing on the Essentials

Do better by doing less…

Rosa Diaz-Casal
ENGAGE
Published in
3 min readNov 8, 2022

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio: https://www.pexels.com

Ever since I read Greg McKeown’s book “Essentialism”, I’ve been thinking a lot about it. I’ve written several pieces about minimalism of thought and decisions and that is exactly what essentialism focuses on.

The first thing I wanted to share about essentialism is the idea of creating time for space in our life. No matter how busy we may be, I think it’s important to set aside time for us to do whatever we want to do — even if that means doing something completely unproductive or lazy. It’s same as when you take a few days off from working out, when you get back to it, you find that you are a little bit stronger, or you find yourself lifting more.

We’ve all heard about burnout but don’t really know what it means until we start to feel it for ourselves. Balancing work, family and a social life, along with many other things, takes a toll.

As much as I preach about cutting out things to do, I also understand and accept that certain times in our lives are much busier than others. Whether it’s watching a favorite show, going for a walk, doing some type of outdoor activity or just taking a nap, we have to make sure that we take time to decompress and recover from the busy days before.

--

--