New Year Challenges

Light, Love, Energy and Resolution

Have you ever stepped out of the shadows of doubt?

Jl Millis
ENGAGE
Published in
7 min readJan 28, 2024

--

A rainbow passing over an eye.
What do you see when you gaze into the eyes of someone professing their love to you? Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

“And the day came when the risk [it took] to remain tight in the bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom” – Anais Nin

What fills your mind’s eye just before you wake?

This morning it was a question Rui Alves posed for us: What resolutions have I stuck with in the past, present, and future?

I hadn’t opened my eyes yet, but I was aware, snugged in and selfish, with my writer’s voice, contemplating the day I took my marriage vows.

I don’t have a single living cell in my body that was there the day I said “Yes, I will marry you.”

“I was watching you sleep, and you have a beautiful face…”

Bob’s words as I fully wake up make me catch my breath.

My husband was laying there watching me while I was sleeping?

My toes curl as my feet arch in discomfort.

‘Why? I love him. I’m safe with Bob, but hearing him call me beautiful tipped a whole cascade of other people’s words looping through my mind.

“He can’t mean me… Don’t get above yourself… You’ll get a puffed…

--

--

Jl Millis
ENGAGE

I have a good eye, nimble fingers, a sensuous mind and stories to share. A writer, tutor, retired teacher, mother and wife. https//sweet.pub/jl_millis