ORIGINAL BLOG POST DATE: TUESDAY, JANUARY 8, 2008

My Grandmother’s Favourite Question Every Time I Visit

“Did you cycle here?”

Senn Lai
ENGAGE
Published in
6 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Picture of the Author’s maternal grandmother smiling as she holds a peeled mandarin orange and a red packet during Chinese New Year.
Photo Author’s Own: Poh-Poh celebrating Chinese New Year 2006

I call my maternal grandmother Poh-Poh, and nowadays, she only asks me one question, “Did you cycle here?”.

In fact she loves this question so much, that she can literally ask me an average of 3 to 4 times in half an hour. Of course, she is also one who likes variety, so she’ll interact in different ways:
1. Are you cycling home?
2. Don’t cycle home.

Whatever form the question or comment is made, my answer is always the same: “No Poh-Poh… I drove here.”

Poh-Poh is 87 this year.

A lovable old lady with a gentle heart who loves spoiling her grandchildren. I like to think I am her favourite because she is always feeding me whenever I visit.

And not just feeding me with everything.

She knows I love fruits and she will always say, with a cheeky smile and a twinkle in her eye, “Ah-Senn, there’s fresh fruits in the fridge”.

This is followed by her telling the usual tale of how, as a kid, I had loved fruits so much that even the ones on the altar are not safe. I would give a…

--

--

Senn Lai
ENGAGE
Writer for

I write because I want to share my story. And I share because maybe, just maybe, somewhere amongst the many written lines, you will find yourself in my stories.