Never Dressed for Success

How does one know the dress code?

Ava Marcus
ENGAGE

--

Many shirts hanging in a closet
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

Clothes have never been one of my obsessions. As a girl, I always said “yes!” to whatever clothes my mother picked out for me until around the fifth grade.

In fourth grade, I began noticing that I didn’t really like the clothes my mother liked. I thought red jeans were weird. I’m not a fan of being sleeveless. I prefer being practical over being cute.

One thing that makes me nervous is sticking out like a sore thumb. I dislike going to events when either I don’t know how to dress, or I don’t own clothes that fit the dress code. Casual, business, business-casual, fancy…I can’t seem to figure it out.

Confetti and ribbons laying on a floor
Photo by Seyedeh Hamideh Kazemi on Unsplash

When I was 16, I went to a bat mitzvah party dressed in my nicest clothes. Everyone else was casual. I was uncomfortable and sweating. I felt I couldn’t take my jacket off because everyone would know I was sweating the load about being overdressed.

Another time I was working as a babysitter for a family that had a wedding to attend. I thought they were clear when they said I would bring all their children for pictures, then I would take the little ones home and put them to bed. I…

--

--

Ava Marcus
ENGAGE
Writer for

Facing my fear of rejection one story at a time.