WOMEN’S HISTORY MONTH

Oprah Winfrey: The Queen of Television and Philanthropy

Oprah has been an influential figure in the entertainment industry for decades, paving the way for women and people of color to succeed in television and beyond

Stephen Dalton
ENGAGE
Published in
4 min readMar 8, 2023

--

Oprah Women’s History Month — Dreamstime #29215733.

My wife asked me the other day how Oprah became so wealthy. I must admit I had no idea other than her TV show and that I often read a book based solely on her recommendation. But could that make her a billionaire?

I wondered, but I didn’t care enough to look it up. That is until I realized it was Women’s History Month. Is that hypocritical? Perhaps.

However, I’ve always thought the only way we will have genuine equality is when there is no longer a need to preface an accomplishment with “the first black to achieve…” or “the first woman to become…”

That’s probably too much to hope for since we seem to be headed in the other direction in the USA these days.

In honor of Women’s History Month and International Women’s Day, let’s explore Oprah’s journey to becoming a billionaire and her notable accomplishments as a television host, philanthropist, and advocate for women’s empowerment and mental health.

--

--

Stephen Dalton
ENGAGE

Stephen Dalton is a retired US Army First Sergeant with a degree in journalism from the University of Maryland. Top Writer in Investing, Business, & Bitcoin!