WRITING PROMPT|FEARS KILL DREAMS

The Fear Of Success Is Real

Doing things just for fun is allowed

Susan Wheelock
ENGAGE
Published in
5 min readSep 5, 2023

--

Photo by David Lezcano on Unsplash

A few days ago, I commented to Rui Alves that I was working on an essay that I thought I could tweak a bit to fit his recent writing challenge, “Fears Kill Dreams.”

This is not that essay.

I scrapped the original piece I had intended to use, as well as the few attempts after it. I haven’t published in a couple of weeks and haven’t written anything of substance during that time.

Lately, every time I sit down to write, fear and anxiety seep in. I’ve been in these situations before, but never like this.

I’ve been rummaging around in my brain trying to figure out why this time is so much worse than anything before, and I think I finally have an answer. I believe it’s all because someone I used to know personally read one of my stories and reached out.

I’ve been exposed.

A few weeks ago, I wrote this story about workplace power plays and sexual harassment. I was white-hot angry when I wrote it and it showed. The story did really well as far as views and reads go, and I was initially thrilled about its success.

--

--

Susan Wheelock
ENGAGE

Halloween loving retired public servant, and mom of three. Major league dog lover. Trying to age well. Always searching for the middle ground.