Wearing a Mask: Human Decency, or a Political Debate?

When COVID hit, I, like many college students, was forced to move back to my hometown. I knew a lot was going to change after living in Northridge for three years. I grew up in Thousand Oaks, California, and to say that I didn’t enjoy living there is definitely an understatement. I feel like I sound kind of like a brat saying that. I mean, I lived in a beatiful, safe town in Southern California, what more can you ask for. What I despised about Thousand Oaks was the lifestyle. A bunch of privileged, moderately conservative, middle aged people sticking their nose up at you, judging you if you were even a little bit different. Being a young, actively liberal woman, I never fit in, and when I was 18, I vowed to never go back. One thing I did not prepare myself for when I moved back was how few people I would see wearing masks.

City of Thousand Oaks

When I moved from Northridge back to Thousand Oaks, I knew there was going to be a lot that was different. After living in a place with so much diversity, I knew going back to a town with a 68% white population was going to be a lot differnet. Aside from that, the politics of the two places are incredibly different. Northridge is filled with young liberals, while Thousand Oaks has its fair share of older, relatively conservative folks. Over these last couple months, the wearing of masks has gone from being the bare minimum we can do to stop the spread, to a full blown political debate. At this point, it seems conservatives have found every reason to not wear a mask.

Saying that Thousand Oaks is “older” in terms of the people living there may be a little harsh, but compared to surrounding areas, there is some truth to it. The average age in Thousand Oaks is 44.2 years old, however, many of the residents are quite a bit older. It is common knowledge that the risk of getting the virus increases with age, so you would think that people in Thousand Oaks would be extra cautious and do the bare minimum of wearing a mask. However, from what I have seen, the opposite is true.

Average age of Thousand Oaks resident

As masks have become a political issue over these last couple months, it seems as though the younger generation is doing the most in protecting themselves and others. Jackie Winter, a 21 year old resident of California, says that she wears a mask to protect others, and because she has an autoimmune disease: type 1 diabetes. She believes wearing a mask is the easiest way to keep herself and others safe. “I welcomed the idea of wearing a mask because it makes me feel safer and I have less anxiety doing errands.” Winter said.

Jackie Winter

Now, as there are many young people who believe that scientific facts that Covid-19 is incredibly dangerous and wearing a mask is an easy way to help prevent the spread, there are some young people who are a little less cooperative. One of these people is Chad Harley, a 24 year old resident of Thousand Oaks. Harley believes that Coronavirus is “not as serious as everyone is making it out to be”. I can only assume he got his research from a Facebook post, and not a real scientist, but that is besides the point. Harley refuses to wear a mask in public, and will continue to do so, and will most likely remain upset that nothing is opening back up.

Chad Harley

Another young conservative in Thousand Oaks who does not believe in wearing masks is Noah Masyr. Masyr is 21 years old and as a Republican, he has very strong feelings about government involvement in people’s lives. Masyr finds the mandatory mask mandate seen in quite a few parts of the United States, unnecessary. While he does believe people should be wearing masks in these times, he does not think it should be due to a government mandate. “I think it’s stupid that government tries to regulate anything. People are overwhelmingly responsible. For example a majority of people started wearing masks before they were required.” Masyr said.

Noah Masyr

Although masks have become very politicised over the last few months, there are plenty of conservatives who understand the importance of wearing a mask, my own mother being one of them. Sandra Demogenes is a 59 year old living in Thousand Oaks, California. She has voted for the Republican candidate since she was old enough to vote, and even she believes that the conservative mindset on masks is ridiculous. “I work at a senior home, and I have seen how this virus has impacted them. I want to do everything I can to make sure I am not putting them at risk. So if that means wearing a mask, that is what I’ll do.” Demogenes said.

Sandra Demogenes (left)

On the flip side, there are young liberals who do not seem to acknowledge the importance of wearing a mask. One of these people is 21 year old Melanie Leung. While Leung will wear a mask in places that require one, it’s a different story for places that don’t. “I don’t think it is necessary to wear one when it is not enforced.” However, Leung respects the decision of establishments enforcing the wearing of masks, and even thinks it’s a good idea. “It’s a small, simple act to slow down the spread of the virus.”

Melanie Leung

Carah Frank, a 21 year old student, understands the importance of masks, and how important it is for everyone to wear them. “It only works if everyone does their part,” Frank said. “That’s why I wear my mask and I avoid large gatherings where possible.” Frank also talks about how something negative can be turned into a positive. “I have even started collecting different masks and making them a part of my wardrobe, which makes it sort of fun and not a nuisance.”

Carah Frank

Due to the significantly fewer number of people residing in Thousand Oaks compared to Los Angeles, there have been significantly less cases of Coronavirus. Therefore, the mask requirement is not nearly as strict here, and many places do not require the wearing of masks. Walking around the grocery store, it is definitely disheartening to see people who still refuse to wear a mask. It seems as though if people do not suck it up and change their actions, nothing is ever going to change.

--

--