I’m on my way! Building my first app

Carlos Martín
Engineering Unicorn
2 min readNov 6, 2017

My very first post! I’m pretty excited to announce that I am putting myself out there and have decided to start building my very own phone app and wanted to blog the journey on here plus other computer programming/designing related content…

Perhaps I should introduce myself…

My name is Carlos, I live in Austin,TX, been here since 2009 went to college got my BBA in Entrepreneurship. After college I worked in nightlife/nightclub industry for a bit before I went into the local public sector for Travis County. In my work as a civil servant, I’ve had to use a lot of graceless and counter-intuitive software(go figure working for a gov’t entity). Curious as to why these programs worked the way they do, I started teaching myself to code and enrolled in a few local Full-Stack Web Development programs. Almost immediately, I knew this is what I wanted to do with my life! I loved the mix of creative solving skills I get to use when writing code; and curating beautiful designs on Sketch and Invision (hence the title of my publication, engineering unicorn). I am always challenged by the constant platform for learning and how you can create nothing out of something with a few lines of code.

www.carlosoftexas.com

At the time of this posting I have really only been coding/designing for less than 8 months, and really just want to put forward my best effort and see where this journey takes me.. I hope my posts can entertain senior level coders/designers and be somewhat of a platform for design/code newbies thinking about getting into this industry.

Well.. I better get started on this project, I will be updating here and there when I have some free time between this massive undertaking and living life in between.

Cheers ya’ll!

Carlos

--

--