1998 or 2018?

Kaitlyn Zook
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readSep 25, 2018

🎶“Come as you are, as you were
As I want you to be
As a friend, as a friend
As an known enemy ”🎶

As a kid, I remember 90’s and early 2000’s alternative music flowing through the airwaves in my house.

I remember throwing darts in our dim lit garage in the summer evening listening to “Smells like Teen Spirit”.

I remember car rides to field hockey games with rock out sessions to “Buddy Holly”. I remember when I got my first iPod Nano, and having every Green Day album on repeat. I remember when guitar hero on Nintendo DS was huge, and the only song I ever played was “Learn to Fly” because my dad loved to listen to it on repeat.

Now 90’s alternative is my go-to genre. It is nostalgic of my childhood.

Every time I set my headphones in my ear, I wait for the sounds of “Even Flow”, “Shimmer”, “The Freshman”, to whisk me away back to the time of throwing darts in my garage with my dad, while my brothers rode their bikes around our cal-de-sac- “The Kids Weren’t Alright”. (ha ha)

Personally, none of these will ever compare to the way my brain feels when “Wonderwall”starts playing.

With this being said, I decided to craft a nineties alternative playlist of my childhood. These songs have crafted my taste of music, even to this day. Without hesitation, I would pick “One Headlight” over some trap remix. These songs and I have been through some of the best, and lowest points of my life.

So, without further hesitation, allow me to take you through my 2000’s childhood influenced by nineties alternative rock.

--

--