A Selfie Story

Paige Kistler
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readSep 10, 2018

I’m not usually one for taking selfies. I don’t know if it’s because I never quite learned all the right tricks that add up to the perfect picture, or if it’s because I’m just disinterested in taking them sometimes.

Taking that into consideration, it makes a little more sense that my selfies are not the best constructed or particularly outstanding pieces of photography. In the ones you’ll see below, the background is either bland or hardly seen, except for the picture with the Stormtroopers. In that case, the selfie was more about capturing the proximity to the Troopers than anything else.

Looking at my selfies, they are not one of many that I took in an attempt to get the lighting just right, but were spur of the moment. I took each of them trying to take a quick snapshot (pun intended) of what was happening in that second. They were intended to be quick reminders of a nice outfit that made me feel good, or a time when my sister and I were at an amusement park, or that I came this close to “actual” Stormtroopers.

For all of these selfies, I never actually shared them with anyone. I never posted them to social media. They’ve just been living in my phone’s memory as those reminders.

--

--