AR in Memorial Project

Maxine Okon
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readDec 7, 2018

The two spots I chose to augment for this project were the main entryway to memorial and the writing center. I wanted to diversify my overlays, one being historical based and one being informative. For the first overlay, I stood towards the back of the entrance and faced the doorway. I overlaid an older picture of memorials entrance with the current entrance. It was really interesting to see the differences and similarities, it still looked about the same, but something about the entrance now just feels a little different and, in my opinion, a little tired. I chose to do this overlay because I thought it was a really interesting comparison to be able to see old and new on top of each other. The second overlay I did was in the entrance to the writing center in the basement of Memorial. In front of the doorway, before you walk in, I overlaid a picture of the center’s hours. I chose to do this because I thought it was helpful and informative-and in case of the writing center being closed it would still work because it was taken from the outside.

Entrance to Memorial
Writing Center Hours

The overall process using Reveal was definitely frustrating, the app is touchy and doesn’t really work unless you are in the exact same spot and position as someone else, which is difficult to replicate. However, it was exciting when it did work and I got to see other people’s overlays and ideas come to life.

In general I feel like augmented reality is progressing and becoming a more normalized part of society. It’s a different way for people to gain knowledge and understanding and I think it’s going to become very prevalent in the literary and historical world as well. I also think, besides for academic purposes, augmented reality will become a bigger part of the social media and communications world. It provides a unique approach to visual art and being able to represent new ideas in old spaces. I feel that interior design may really utilize augmented reality in particular.

--

--

Maxine Okon
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

A senior mass communications major and english minor at UD!