AR project in the memorial hall

Zoe_qi
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
3 min readDec 8, 2018

I chose two scenes to augment for the project. The first one is the outside scene of the memorial hall. This is a great start point for my project since before people come in they would be interested in seeing what it looked like years ago.

The scene I augmented outside of the memorial
The overlay of the scene

The second overlay I chose to contribute was the book of the day. When I was a freshman I was really impressed with the book. I always wonder what is the story behind it.

The book of the day
Overlay of the scene

The above overlay can rotate so be sure to check this out!

The process of finishing this assignment was not challenging at all since I was able to take the picture and upload it into the app. I wanted to thank Prof. McGuire for sending us those awesome pictures about memorial hall’s history so I got to use those pictures as the overlay.

From my perspectives, augmented reality provides us with a new way of looking at this world. Take my project as an example, I was able to augment two scenes and use the old pictures as an overlay to showcase their history, which I think it is cool because it reduces the distance between the current and the previous time. It can also be used as a learning tool for display in museums.

I think the augmented reality technology will be ubiquitous within the next 10 years. VR technique creates an immersive experience for human and shapes the new way how the human can interact with the technology. For example, one of the best-known application is the NASA’s Human Exploration Research Analog (HERA). HERA is the artificial hábitat created in a way that is similar to how human would experience in another planet or in a spaceship. NASA is augmenting this environment with AR and VR technique so that astronauts could be trained in an environment with the accurate gravity. This technique can be ubiquitous by 2028 because it provides an effective learning tool for students to study astronomy and inspires the next generation of space pioneers. VR technology is amplifying human’s experience by shortening the distance between people and space. Applications like this have a definitely growing market within the next 10 years.

--

--