Getting Curious with Jonathan Van Ness

Sarah Pozzi
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readSep 28, 2018

I chose to listen to the podcast Getting Curious with Jonathan Van Ness. I binged the show he is in on Netflix, Queer Eye, in less than a week and I was obsessed with Jonathan, so when I saw he had a podcast I needed to listen to it. I listened to one of the podcasts called “Being a Fierce Woman in Comedy? with Nicole Byer & Erin Gibson” that I have never listened to before.

Regarding speech, Jonathan, the host, talks pretty fast which I noticed right away. He also has a very animated voice, which makes the podcast much more exciting to listen to, and also keeps the listener engaged. It also shows us that Jonathan is actually very interested in what he is talking about and who he is talking to. The language he uses is hilarious as well. He is just so over the top and it is impossible not to laugh at almost everything he says.

There was not really any background music or noice because it was just an interview between two people talking. Although it was an interview, it seemed more like a conversation, which leads me to my next point.

There was little to no silence between the people talking. Since it barely seemed like an interview and more like Jonathan having a conversation with a friend, the silence, or lack of silence tells us a lot. It shows us that they are both really engaged, which again, makes the audience engaged.

The intro music was very disco-y and upbeat, which is what I would imagine for a podcast with him. The music was kind of loud at first, and then when Jonathan was giving his introduction, it was soft, then transitioning from the introduction to getting into the actual podcast, the music got really loud. This added another dimension to the podcast. They played the same music during the break as well, right before Jonathan talked about an advertisement, then the music played again and we got right back into the podcast.

Overall, I think that the different sounds, or lack there of, helped shape the podcast whether a listener noticed it at first glance or not.

--

--

Sarah Pozzi
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

Mass Communications major. Journalism, English, Advertising Minor