Happy, Rainy Day

Meaghan Hurr
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
1 min readSep 25, 2018

I’ve named my playlist “Happy, Rainy Day” because that is exactly how it feels to me. The songs are meant to induce thought and attention to take you away from the world around you. Some are more upbeat and some less so, but they all have a similar speed and strong beats in the background. Listening in order, the listener will get a diverse soundtrack that starts slow and varies from then on. I think the two EDM songs will prove more surprising, but they are there to slightly vary the mood. These are some of my absolute favorite songs, which I have on my Apple Music account. With this playlist, my intention is to introduce recurring moods. One song will introduce one mood, and the following will introduce another, but I stagger them so that they will recur. I think my favorite transition is from “Agnes” to “U” because the first has a a more calming tone whereas the latter comes in pretty strong. I am certainly a listener to this playlist and have my own interpretations of it, but am sure others may interpret the songs or order of songs differently. This is unavoidable and should be accepted. I purposely ended the playlist with “Lost in the World” because of its upbeat tone and reflective mood.

--

--

Meaghan Hurr
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

English major, lover of books, travel enthusiast, dog worshiper