“Money Tree” podcast

Maya Kessler
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readSep 28, 2018

I really enjoyed getting to listen to the podcast “money tree”, and did not expect to enjoy the podcast as much as I did. When listening, I came across many different forms of audio. First, I heard two distinct voices throughout the entire story. The first was Axton, the main character of the podcast, and the second was a narrator. At times they would each speak, and then there was more of an interview section towards the end. I was able to hear both of them breathing during times that were more intense during the podcast, sensing how they were feeling. In addition, I heard faint background music. The music consisted of drums, and a guitar. However, at times the music would have a very creepy appeal to it and would get more intense and louder. At one point during the podcast there was silence and no background noise. My attention was immediately caught as this had been different than before and I could tell that this was a pivotal moment and part of the climax.

The audio in the podcast helped tell the story of the podcast by clearly showing the emotions that Axton was going through. As the background music became more intense and louder, I could feel the mystery unfolding. Similarly, when there is no background noise, my skin had goosebumps and I could feel the intense time period that Axton was facing. The instruments chosen also contributed to the intensity. For example, the guitar was used during more calming portions of the podcast, while the drums were used to mark important actions taking place. The audio did not take anything away from the story, but only added to it. This is very important because as an audience we are not seeing the speakers. Therefore, we need that extra layer of audio to guide us in the right direction.

--

--