My Multimodal Literacy Narrative

Valerie Obeng
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
1 min readSep 14, 2018

My favorite childhood book that stands out in my memory is The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo. The text was easy to understand better because of the details of the pictures. The words matched well with the pictures and it helped me to follow well with the story. The pictures of each chapter were always aligned in the center and when I look at the pictures, my eyes meet at the important details. The pictures were attractive because they were colorful and were not just stick figures, but real people in art. One quote from the text that I’ve found beautiful was the following: “Open your heart, someone will come for you.” This was the lesson that Edward Tulane, the toy china rabbit learned in the course of his journey falling in the hands of different people. Toys just like people will love and also be loved, it only takes patience and self-discovery. Through connecting all of the modes that were used in the text together (language, visuals, spatial) I appreciated and connected well with the text.

--

--

Valerie Obeng
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

English major with a passion for technology, analysis and data management.