my road trip approved playlist

Sarah Pozzi
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readSep 26, 2018

Halsey- Colors

Chelsea Cutler- Your Shirt

Bazzi- 3:15

Lauv- I Like Me Better

Khalid- Better

Loote- Wish I Never Met You

Halsey- Roman Holiday

Gryffin- Nobody Compares To You

Chelsea Cutler- You’re Not Missing Me

The Chainsmokers- Young

In order to make this playlist, I simply chose the songs that I am constantly listening to and put them in a playlist. I listen to the same 4 or 5 artists religiously, and sometimes throw a song from new artist in sometimes. After making this playlist, I wondered if all the types of songs were connected in any way. I went to each artists Spotify page, and it each artists songs were one features on the “Chill Hits” playlist that Spotify has, which made a lot of sense to me. Almost all of the songs main singer has a pretty soothing voice, with indie/techno instrumentals.

Another thing I noted is that every single song I chose is in some way about love and relationships. Most of the songs you can tell by the title, but when the playlist is listened to it sort of tells a story about love and heartbreak. I did not do that for any personal reason, but I think the type of vibes those songs give off is the chill mellow music that I like to listen to on a day to day basis.

When listened to, I think the playlist would be exactly what you would expect after listening to the first two or three songs. When I listen to a playlist, I enjoy there being one type of “sound” depending on what mood I’m in. Slow-ish songs that were more upbeat at times is the type of music I listen to when I am just hanging out, not dance music or songs with loud or fierce vocals. I also think my songs flow well together when they end. None of the songs end in a crazy way, so each song goes into the next very easily, making it a better experience, in my opinion, for the listener.

I chose to end the playlist with a remix of an EDM/ indie duo, The Chainsmokers. The song I chose, Young, is a really great song for this playlist because it still has the same chill vibe as the other songs, but then at the end there is a strong beat drop that you leave with the listener.

PS. I listen to these types of songs during long car rides and they are road trip approved.

--

--

Sarah Pozzi
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

Mass Communications major. Journalism, English, Advertising Minor