My selfies for myself.

Gabrielle Victor
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readSep 10, 2018

Photo number 1: After a rough summer of losing friends and the will to leave my house, I wanted to document one of my me and my best friends with a beautiful sunset. Marisa adds light to this picture. Her gleaming smile lights up the already perfect backdrop. The photo is framed to capture all of the beauty she, the sunset, and myself exude.

Photo number 2: My dad is my rock, my hero, genuinely my best friend. Each year we take a city trip and visit my favorite store. This selfie was directly after buying new beautiful clothing. While the ambiance of New York City is not accurately captured behind my dad and I, it’s there to remind me of how cultured my dad tried to make me growing up. I find myself knowing so much about New York City without ever having lived there. This selfie holds a happy memory of walking around laughing at all of the extremely bawdy shirts and inappropriate writings in shops and on the walls.

Photo number 3: This picture was taken solely to get my niece Ophelia to stop crying. Ophelia is 3 and a half years old and my little soul mate. She was screaming at the top of her lungs and with the younger generation, a selfie on snapchat fixes ALL.

--

--

Gabrielle Victor
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

21 from Central Jersey. English major and Jewish Studies minor with a language. Graduating after this semester. Proud dog mommy to a Pekingese named Mooshu.