Selfie Analysis

Kaitlyn Zook
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
3 min readSep 12, 2018
Both of these photos were taken at Cape May Beach during our family vacation over the summer. Pictured is both my brothers, mom, dad, and baby sister.

Believe it or not- I am not a big selfie girl. If there ever comes a time where a selfie is requested it is either because (1) my mom thinks it is “cool” and we have no one else to take the picture, (2) my brothers and I are sending a picture to show our parents what we are up to, or (3) to commemorate a moment with my friends.

In both the beach pictures- which were taken on two separate days- it looks as though someone could have photoshopped me. My body positioning, smile, and way I am lifting myself are the same. I think this mirror of my body language signifies how I feel around my family- they make me happy, I am proud they are my family, and that I am protective of them- especially with how I puff my chest. On the other hand with my friends, I am more mixed in with them and not presenting myself in front of them-but, I do have a comforting hand on my friends shoulder. I think that shows how I am towards my friends- which is that I am more of a comforting presence and there for them- not trying to outshine them.

I think the vacation pictures show my social/economic status- it shows that I am provided with the luxury to be able to not have to work, and just go to the beach and have fun with my family. Personally. I think the way my brother looks in the two photos shows our economic status with his Oakley’s, and Vineyard Vines shirt, but I also think he encompasses our race because usually Vineyard Vines is associated with white males.

It does not show-but, I know that all photos were taken in the best lighting I could achieve. I believe I did that to accent everyone’s best features like their eyes and their smiles. I also always point the camera down a little, and make sure that everyone is getting their best angle. I think this just shows how when I am trying to capture a moment, I want everyone to be their best self in the photo because it reminds us of the good from the moment.

In relation to the writing in the moment article, I believe that the only the picture of my family and I is constructed to fit the article. The picture is trying to portray that we are a ahappy family, we always gets along, and can vacation together without any arguments.

--

--