Selfies

Maxine Okon
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
2 min readSep 10, 2018
  • I didn’t realize before I looked at these photo’s together, but the way I am presenting myself in each picture is pretty similar. My pose and facial expression’s are modest and it seems like I am trying to look natural when each picture is obviously posed.
  • The angle of each photo shows that I favor the left side of my face when having my picture taken, which is definitely true. The lighting and proximity are all the same which probably says something about the types of photo I think I look best in considering I took many shots in all of these situations and chose to only save the one’s shown.
  • There are no other elements besides myself in the photos except for the last one that includes my boyfriend.
  • I don’t think these images portray any particular personality trait other than liking to take close up photos of myself because my facial expression doesn’t provide much information into my personality.
  • I think I subconsciously composed a digital image for myself through these photos which is interesting to me because they were taken a few weeks to months apart and provide the same sort of vibe, which is trying my best to come off as natural and happy.

--

--

Maxine Okon
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

A senior mass communications major and english minor at UD!