What my selfies say about me

Valerie Obeng
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric
1 min readSep 10, 2018

My three selfies show that I am in a room by myself, which says that I am more of a home person and don’t always get outside. This tells a lot about my personality because I am quiet, reserved, and often find comfort in solitude. Each of the selfies tell a story:

The first selfie shows me being alone in a parlor room. This parlor room belongs to my aunt and I often come to her house to babysit her two sons. This activity is what I do once in a while when she’s away for a conference. Before I took this selfie, I was happy about getting things done on my laptop. I was then asked by a department from the university that I was part of to share a photo of myself for the purposes of getting to know me. My selfie was then taken.

My last two selfies are at the same location, which is my dorm room. I took the selfies at a random moment during a rainy day. My facials were different at each picture because I wanted to change up the look on my face to make my pictures look more interesting. The background was a little darker than my first picture because of how dark and rainy it was outside . In terms of the angle, I wanted to close the photo in on me and not the other things around me because the things that I was hiding were not necessary to show.

--

--

Valerie Obeng
ENGL 397: Digital Rhetoric

English major with a passion for technology, analysis and data management.