Am I an Environmentalist?

Joanna Scatasti
ENGL462
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2017

Hardly, but here’s what inspired me to be more conscious.

About a year ago, in the midst of the anxiety about applying for classes, I stumbled upon a course with McKay Jenkins: Introduction to Environmental Literature. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I knew that I had a piqued interest in the environment. So with a determined finger and a willing laptop, I clicked to enroll in the course.

I walked into the large lecture room in Memorial Hall that Fall 2015 semester and was surprised at how many students were enrolled in the class. My first thought was that they must have needed it to fulfill a requirement, and although I learned that many students did, there was a select few whose knowledge opened my eyes to the environment and just how much of an affect we really have as inhabitants.

During the course, I was forced to go out of my comfort zone. We had to write weekly journals reflecting on our readings (which ranged from Darwin to Jenkins’ own writings) and actually step out into nature and record our findings. I was forced to alter my way of thinking so that not only could I notice my own problematic practices, but the problems that I deemed “normal”.

For example, I specifically remember one class where we learned about how artificial scents were toxic to the environment and to our bodies. Especially how we breathe in these scents in the store or even at home without a second thought. I was a bit skeptical at first, but after I stepped foot in my local grocery store and smelled the candle aisle before I saw it, I soon realized that there was an issue.

Jenkins’ cold serving of the truth didn’t stop there, however. In addition to learning about toxic chemicals, we learned about how The Green’s super green grass isn’t normal (and isn’t beneficial to the environment), how UD uses toxic chemicals to keep up with their aesthetic, global warming, farming, and more. We volunteered once a week at Fairweather Farms with Nancy, the owner. We went on a canoe trip and talked about everything we learned over the course of the semester. Because Jenkins was so excited and engaged in the material, I started to gain the same mindset as well.

A rainy day on the farm. September 2015. One of the first times that we went on the farm without Jenkins, we were caught in the rain. We made the best of it and continued volunteering with Nancy!

Though I have always been somewhat interested in the environment, I could certainly say that I was lazy about it. After I was forced to step out of my comfort zone and directly engage with the environment and come to terms with my footprint, I was able to form a new appreciation for the earth on which I live and new knowledge about some actions I can take to be environmentally sustainable.

Professor McKay Jenkins was the sole reason that I decided to become more proactive in my efforts and be increasingly conscious about my actions. The hands on experiences that I received in his class are invaluable, and taking his course was the push that I needed.

I wouldn’t say that I’m an Environmentalist, not yet, but with the valuable experiences that I am putting under my belt, I am well on my way.

--

--