Hey Winter, Quit Playing With My Emotions

Joanna Scatasti
ENGL462
Published in
2 min readMar 21, 2017
A few summers ago at Dewey Beach. (Where I’ve been yearning to go to since this weather has been toying with my emotions.)

I read one of Maya’s posts recently about having the winter blues, and I couldn’t identify with it more. The winter blues is real. But what is even more absurd about it all is that these “winter blues” aren’t necessarily caused by the winter. Rather, I truly and vehemently believe that the severe case of the blues that I suddenly have is in part due to the massive fluctuation of the weather.

It was warm and sunny a few weeks ago, was it not? Though I felt wrong about it, I enjoyed the sun, the breeze, and the happy (and too early) chirping of the birds. I imagined, just for a second, that it was spring, that I was a step closer to graduation, and that summer was just around the corner. Then, only a measly few days later, I was hit with the reality that it is winter, it is cold, and that I am not close to any of those things. This weather is really messing with my mind, and really all I can do about it is snap myself out of this sudden sadness that I feel.

Though I am slightly annoyed and upset that I’m inconvenienced about this weather change, it’s definitely not normal that this is happening in the first place. How can a slight weather change effect my mood to such a high degree? If we keep toying with the environment and just generally not taking it seriously, surely these effects will get worse.

And, as I end every post I’ve been writing here, lately, I’m going to try and figure out how to fix it.

You won’t win this time, winter blues.

--

--