Inspiration

Courtney Dill
ENGL462
Published in
2 min readMay 15, 2017

Recently we were asked to write a blog post for Delaware Nature Society. We were each assigned an animal and then we were to visit the DuPont Environmental Education Center on the Wilmington Riverfront and then write what we learned about that species.

When I visited with the intention of researching the Double Crested Cormorant, I found so many interesting facts and learned so much. When I left I was in awe of the bird.

When I left, I had learned so much about the species and discovered one of the coolest looking birds I have ever seen. With its aquamarine eyes and blue interior of its mouth, I think it is one of the prettiest birds up-close that I have ever seen.

Learning about its aquatic life, and inherent abilities to swim well, coincided with my love for the water and swimming.

This bird is indigenous to Delaware, where I’ve lived essentially my whole life, and I had no idea it even existed. It’s amazing how we can live somewhere our whole lives and be so ignorant to our surroundings.

I loved finding out about this species and the amazing pictures and livelihood that accompany it. So, I thought I’d share my findings with you!

Fun Facts:

· Oldest documented Double Crested Cormorant lived 17 years and nine months when the average lifespan of wild birds is about 6 years.

  • Global population estimated to be between 1,100,000 and 2,200,000.
  • Inside of their bills are bright blue.
  • Accumulated fecal matter below nests can kill the nest trees. When this happens, the cormorants may move to a new area or they may simply shift to nesting on the ground.
  • Large pebbles are occasionally found in cormorant nests, and the cormorants treat them as eggs.

--

--