Cassidy Santos
ENGL462
Published in
2 min readMar 20, 2017

--

My mind was wondering today and I started to think about spring break. The most popular places to go for Spring Break are the places that have the warm weather, clear water, and bright sunny beaches. Last year I went to Punta Cana and this year I will be going to Cancun. I thought back to this time last year when I was in Punta Cana, and I thought about the crystal clear water and how I could seem my toes when I looked down. I thought about how excited I was to go away again and how I am looking forward to the warm weather. I also thought about why I am not able to see my toes when I look down when I am at the beaches in my home town of Long Island, NY. I thought about how different the beaches are in Punta Cana and Cancun as they are in Long Island. How the water in long island is filled with plastic wrappers and empty food containters. How people leave their garbage on the beach for the seagulls to destroy and throw everywhere, and how eventually this garbage finds its way into the ocean. Although there is not much I can do to stop people from litering, there is something I can do. Starting this summer I am going to be extremely conscious of throwing away my trash, and making sure the people that are with me throw out their trash as well. Although Long Island beaches may never be as beautiful as the ones in Cancun, there is always room to try. *End Rant*

--

--

Cassidy Santos
ENGL462
0 Followers
Writer for

My name is Cassidy and I am senior at the University of Delaware studying English.