Not-So-Pretty Scenery

Kassie Mays
ENGL462
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2017

Living on the first floor of the building offers me not-so-pleasant glimpses of the complex parking lot. From my bed near the window, I can hear engines revving, people chattering, garbage trucks beeping, and the occasional dog barking. It is much the same experience whether my curtains are opened or closed. Opening them, I can now see that it is a gloomy day; the sky is cloudy and gray. I would bet that it is cold outside and make a mental note to wear my coat to class today. There are still people standing outside my window but now they are silent. No dogs have graced me with their presence today, which is always a bit of a downer. Still, I throw on a hoodie and venture outside anyway. As I open the door, I notice the breeze on my face is not as cool as I had expected it to be. The smell of cigarette smoke hits me, revealing the disgusting habit of the people who hang around outside and I remember why I never leave my window open. There is a small patch of grass in the center for dogs to use so I wave the smoke away and walk over to its one tree. The grass has turned brown with very little green remaining. There are leaves crunching under my feet, but only a few as I suspect the rest have long since been blown away. The tree is brittle. I could tell by the many branches lying among its base and atop the cars, but I reach up to feel it anyway and a twig easily breaks off into my hand. I can hear cars passing on the adjoining road and the sound of light wind that reminds me to wear more than a hoodie when I leave the apartment next time. I forgot my phone inside so I do not take a picture of the gloomy scene, but trust me when I tell you that you are not missing out on anything spectacular.

--

--