Social Media and… Learning?

Joanna Scatasti
ENGL462
Published in
2 min readApr 17, 2017

How following National Geographic’s Instagram has increased my knowledge.

There’s a stigma associated with social media which suggests that it’s mostly filled with useless nonsense solely meant for entertainment. Though I once thought that this stigma was rightful in its negative associations, I recently realized that social media can be a valuable platform when used for the right purpose, like learning.

I followed National Geographic on Instagram a few weeks ago, and if I’m being honest, I only really followed it for the aesthetically pleasing pictures of nature. For me, it was a way to remind myself that earth is a lot bigger than the small space in which I live, and there’s more to the environment than industrialization and the suburbs. A few posts from the account appear on my feed every day, and I can’t help but find myself become increasingly more involved in what the account posts.

Each day, National Geographic spotlights different parts of the world. Whether it be the indigenous people of Asia, or the latest lightning strike in Zimbabwe, NatGeo has photos that will pique anyone’s interest. What’s even more valuable, however, is that typically the account will provide links to articles for users to read more about the photos that they have posted. That, too, is a cunning tactic, and I really believe that those users who decide to read more are benefitting in more ways than one.

It is evident that the internet is becoming a crucial part to people’s lives. Social media pages have the choice to either provide content to entertain, or content to further learning. With over 70 million followers, National Geographic is on the right track and has already exposed millions of people to educationally enriching content. Hopefully other accounts will follow suit to provide content that will both educate and entertain — just like National Geographic already does.

--

--