The Big Apple, Industrialization & Unrealization.

Joanna Scatasti
ENGL462
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2017

The Big Apple: New York City. How awesome is the infrastructure? The buildings tower above and look like they’re shooting straight into the heavens. The population fruitful and diverse. The culture is a perfect mixture of the best parts of America.

So why am I writing about NYC for this week’s post, you ask? Partially because I’m in the Big Apple this weekend with my cousin, but also because it poses a question: how can the people of New York be concerned about sustainability when everything around them forbids the notion?

Let me explain:

As we were riding up to New York and walking to our hotel, here are some of the not so beautiful scenes that I captured:

The scenery is bland. The grass is dying and there’s trash everywhere. The infrastructure is beautiful, and the lights are a nice distraction, but not enough to realize that the state of the environment is nothing short of terrible.

So what do we do? NYC’s population is accustomed to the industrialization and probably does not realize the detrimental effects their lifestyle has. And even if they do, they don’t necessarily want to be proactive about it.

So I’ll leave you with this: how can we educate people who don’t necessarily want to be educated?

I’m not sure myself, but I’ll make an effort to find out.

--

--