Personal Essay

Arnav Kasarla
English Composition 1302 (24326)
2 min readSep 18, 2020

Throughout most of my life, I have previously never really paid attention to my teachers that much. In my eyes, the job was not that difficult and I felt like they were way too strict about what we can do during class. During the summer before my junior year of high school, I had a job at a center where they taught kids programming. That job was the only one I have had but it made a large difference in how I view teachers. Now I realize that teachers have a much tougher job than it seems especially those who teach younger children.

I was employed at Rex Programming where I was in charge of teaching elementary school kids and below. During the job, I was in charge of around 20 kids or less and some weeks there would be another person with me, however, most of the time I was by myself and I had to chaperone the kids for up to 8 hours a day. Dealing with the kids, in the beginning, was difficult as they would generally not hear what I was saying or hear what I was saying and just ignore my instructions. Over time I got used to speaking louder than the kids and was able to make the kids listen to instructions better. Although leading children that are only in elementary school or younger is not exactly a hard task it is very tiring dealing with so many unruly children who always need to be reminded of what they are supposed to be doing.

Now, whenever I think about the teachers I have had I feel like they had a pretty good reason for being so strict and making us put up our phones or in rare cases have the class be silent for the rest of the day. I greatly appreciate what my teachers do for us now as they have to deal with a lot of problems just to do their job which does not pay that great. I hold them in a much better light as they willing to help us to learn.

#PersonalEssay

--

--