project one

Jackson Miller
English Composition 1302 (24326)
2 min readNov 9, 2020

Emulation of “In a Station of the Metro” by Ezra Pound

The rain falls and soaks the entire city;

Waterfalls of a full Niagara Falls.

I chose to emulate the style of Ezra Pound’s “In a Station of the Metro” because the format he wrote in grabbed my interest. With only fourteen words, he is able to effectively get his message across. In his poem, he describes the faces of the people in the crowd at a subway station he sees and relates them to petals on a tree. Through his use of a metaphor, he effectively creates an image in the reader’s head of what he is seeing. When I first started to write my poem, I struggled with coming up with an idea that I could effectively write down in fourteen words and have it make sense. I chose to compare a rainstorm to Niagara Falls and wrote in a way to help create an image in the reader’s head. I compared a rainstorm downpour to the waterfalls of Niagara Falls.

Emulation of “The Red Wheelbarrow” by WC Williams

In the blue

sky

A small bird

Soars

Through the clouds

While

The others follow

behind.

I chose to write my second poem in the format of WC Williams “The Red Wheelbarrow” because of its simple yet effective format. He follows a strict three line sentence followed by a one word sentence in a single stanza, with four total stanzas format. In his poem, he writes about how a lot depends on a red wheelbarrow, but offers very little explanation on what he means by it. I like the mystery of his poem, you can kind of interpret it in any way you want. I wrote mine in hopes for people to be able to read it smoothly and see it in their own way as well. Some of the lines in his poem are random, which made it a little difficult for me to write my poem in the same style because without a set central idea, it can be difficult to come up with sentences that seem odd but still make sense.

--

--