Project 2

Alexis Dillard
English Composition 1302 (24354)
2 min readNov 30, 2020

Two Poems (Adaptations of “Girl” by Jamaica Kincaid and “First” by Ryan Meter)

College of Your Choice

You must go to a college that has…

High academic ratings,

Is on par with Texas A&M,

Isn’t too expensive like Baylor,

And don’t even think about,

Going to UNT and

following your boyfriend to college,

Go to ACU,

They have it all,

The academics,

The closeness to home,

And most of all you have free tuition,

You can choose the college,

But go to ACU.

Artist Statement:

Connection between my poem College of Your Choice and “Girl” by Jamaica Kincaid:

  • In “Girl” the poem is in second person and the point of view is that of telling a girl what she has to do, look and act like to be a lady. I took the point of view of parents telling their daughter what to do and used my own life decisions about college to create a poem. I used the pronoun “you” in my poem to make it the same POV as in “Girl.” I wrote about feeling like I am told to do what my parents want me to for my future at college. The challenge of writing came up when I started because once I began writing it came easier to put words on my paper. I’ve learned that through POV and Voice an author can tell a story to the reader about one’s personal experiences and write it exactly how they felt.

Time Spent with Others

Grayson and I hang all the time,

We sit on the couch,

While our eyes are glued to the tv,

Watching our best plays of the video game,

This is just how we like it,

To spend hours together,

After dating for about 9 months,

My family starting saying

spend time with us,

Even though I do,

They see my time spent

with the love of my life as

time away from them,

Which is true,

But love is love,

And I’ve never felt so loved

and attached to someone

as I am to Grayson,

We would spend everyday

with each other if we could,

We never get bored of one another,

Artist Statement:

Connection between my poem Time Spent with Others and “First” by Ryan Meter.

  • In “First” by Ryan Meter the point of view is of a boy and his love for someone. He loves a boy but his family rejects his love and tells him that it is wrong. In my poem I connected with the POV in “First” by displaying my love of spending time with Grayson and how my family feels about it. I used the words “you” and “we” to match the first person point of view in “First.” When I wrote my poem the hardest part was when I got to the last stanza because I wrote a stanza and didn’t like how it ended so I rewrote it to mimic Ryan Meter’s work “First.” I was able to figure out how to make the last stanza better by rereading “First” to get some inspiration from it.

--

--