Why I Write

Alexis Dillard
English Composition 1302 (24354)
2 min readSep 3, 2020

Ever since I was a kid, I have had a deep love for animals. I wrote “books” about different kinds of animals that I liked and where they came from. I believe this to be the reason why I write- to talk about things that I enjoy and enlighten others about such topics. I would read these “books” to my parents and would share with them my love for animals. As I got older, I stopped writing as much until I made it to high school. Writing papers for my advanced English classes, made me reflect on the book we read in class. For me this was a difficult task because I do not read into emotions; I am much more of a logical person than I am emotional. Which is why I did so good in math: a function with x squared will always have two answers. Similarly a function that is cubed will have three answers. Unlike these functions, writing can be interpreted in a million different ways. This is what made reading books like “East of Eden,” “As I Lay Dying” hard to write about because I did not fully understand the author’s purpose. Since you can interpret writing in different ways, it was hard for me to understand the “correct” meaning the teachers told us there was. But I have found that if I write an essay about something I have strong feelings about, I will not be able to get my pen off the paper. Once I get on a roll, there is nothing that will stop my mind until it is done saying everything it needs to. That being said, I believe that my writing is influenced by my experiences; that I deem worthy to share with others in hopes that it will enlighten them to new subjects and points of view through a logical lens. Writing about topics in a logical way is different because it is not fueled by emotion but instead, facts. This keeps my writing truthful and never interpreted the wrong way. There is only one way to read facts just like there is only two answers for a squared function. Therefore, writing logically gives me the opportunity to display my opinion without being misinterpreted by readers.

--

--