Project 1

Nathan Talatala
English Composition 1302 (24374)
2 min readNov 9, 2020

Emulation 1 -> The Red Wheelbarrow by William Carlos Williams

he was put to

rest

under the tree with pink

leaves

his body is

dead

but he will live

forever

Emulation 2 -> The Great Figure by William Carlos Williams

Above the crowd

and smell of sweat

I saw gold

on his

chest

and a

gun

on his

belt

with blue

eyes that look

down on us tonight

Artist Statement

I chose to emulate The Red Wheelbarrow and The Great Figure, both by William Carolos Williams. I chose these poems because I felt like these two poems I could be able to come up with a similar style poem. Some challenges that I came across were trying to find what a good poem to emulate was, trying to copy their style of writing, and coming up with my own subject and story for my poem.

Trying to find a good poem to emulate was a challenge for me because there were so many to choose from, and all of the one that I looked at were really good. Another challenge that I had to overcome while working on this project was to copy William Carlos Williams style of writing. When Mr. Williams writes his poems, he writes it in a way that is very concise, but at the same time very descriptive. It was a challenge for me to copy this because I tend to use a lot of words when trying to describe something, and shortening it to just a couple words was a little bit difficult for me. The third thing that I had to figure out was my own subject for my poems. This was also a challenge for me because I am not super creative like that.

Mimesis was really important for this project. What I have learned about the value of mimesis was how often it is actually used. In most of the writings that I read in the prompt, they were describing something in the real world in their literature. I think there was only one or two that wasn’t super descriptive of what they were writing about.

--

--