What does “to take a rain check” mean?

RedKiwi
English Q&A Master
Published in
1 min readMar 3, 2020

YouTube Example

I’m sorry, Perry the Platypus. I’m going to have to take a rain check.

What does “to take a rain check” mean?

A “rain check” means to take an offer or suggestion, such as going to movies, on a different day than what someone suggests. Taking a rain check means that you are interested in the offer and may take it later, just not at that moment in time.

Ex: I am going to have to take a rain check on dinner tonight. I have to babysit my sister.
Ex: Can I take a rain check? I’m not feeling well.

Try to download the ‘RedKiwi’ mobile app to practice your English listening and speaking with YouTube videos. Videos with daily updates, Q&A for understanding culture and context, and activities to improve your language skills are waiting for you! [Download]

--

--

RedKiwi
English Q&A Master

The best language learning app based on YouTube videos