10 Euphemisms You Need to Know!

Morgan P
English with Morgan
4 min readMar 19, 2023

Use these to survive in the United States!

Today we are going to talk about 10 common euphemisms that you need to know in order to communicate more effectively in English.

A euphemism is a polite or indirect expression that replaces a word or phrase that might be considered too blunt, embarrassing, or offensive.

Using euphemisms is a way to show respect, tact, and sensitivity towards others. So, let’s get started!

1 Restroom

The word “restroom” is a common euphemism used in public places such as airports, restaurants, or hotels to refer to the place where you can relieve yourself. (Relieve yourself is another euphemism that means to pee or poop!)

It is a polite way of avoiding the direct and explicit mention of bodily functions.

To use this euphemism, you can say: “Excuse me, where is the restroom, please?” instead of “Excuse me, where is the toilet, please?” or “Excuse me, where is the bathroom, please?”

Example dialogue:

John: “I need to go to the restroom. Do you know where it is?”

Mary: “Sure, it’s on the second floor, to your left.”

Bonus: #1 = pee and #2 poop

2 Passed away

The expression “passed away” is a euphemism commonly used to talk about someone’s death in a more delicate and compassionate way.

It is a way to show sympathy and avoid using the harsh and blunt word “died”.

To use this euphemism, you can say: “I’m sorry to hear that your grandmother passed away” instead of “I’m sorry to hear that your grandmother died”.

Example dialogue:

Peter: “I’m afraid I won’t be able to come to work tomorrow. My father passed away last night.”

Boss: “I’m so sorry to hear that, Peter. Take all the time you need.”

3 Pre-owned

The term “pre-owned” is a euphemism often used by car dealerships or retailers to describe second-hand products.

It is a way to make the item sound more attractive and valuable than just calling it “used”.

To use this euphemism, you can say: “I’m looking for a pre-owned car that is still in good condition” instead of “I’m looking for a used car”.

Example dialogue:

Salesman: “This is a great pre-owned bike that just arrived yesterday. It’s in excellent shape and has low mileage.”

Customer: “Hmm, let me take a closer look at it.”

4 Senior citizen

The term “senior citizen” is a euphemism used to refer to older people who have retired or reached a certain age.

It is a way to show respect and appreciation for their experience and wisdom, instead of just calling them “old”.

To use this euphemism, you can say: “My grandfather is a senior citizen who enjoys playing golf every weekend” instead of “My grandfather is an old man who likes to play golf”.

Example dialogue:

Nurse: “Good morning, Mrs. Smith. How are you feeling today?”

Mrs. Smith: “I’m doing fine, thank you. It’s nice to have some young people like you around here to take care of us senior citizens.”

5 Let go or laid off

The expression “let go” is a euphemism used to describe the act of firing or dismissing an employee from a job. It is a way to make the situation sound less harsh and more amicable. To use this euphemism you can say, “I got laid off /let go last week.”

Example dialogue:

Boss: I’m sorry Peter but we have to let you go. The company is losing money.

Peter: Oh, wow. Thanks for telling me in person.

6 Between jobs

Use this when you don’t want to say that are unemployed and without a job. For example, “Mary is between jobs right now, she’s looking for a better job.”

Example dialogue.

Interviewer: So, Jessica what do you do now?

Jessica: Right now, I’m between jobs but I’m actively looking for a new one.

7 Passed gas

Use instead of farted, to sound less vulgar.

Example: “He passed gas during the meeting and everyone tried to keep a straight face.”

8 To be expecting

This is another way to say that a woman is pregnant.

Example dialogue:

Friend 1: Did you hear, Maria is expecting!

Friend 2:Expecting what?

Friend 1: No she’s pregnant. She’s going to have a baby.

9 Put down

This is a phrase used when an animal is sick or old and they are medically killed.

For example: My dog has been really sick this year so we the made the decision to put her down.

10 Getting on

This expression is used when someone is getting older or advancing in age.

For example, “My mother is getting on so I like to call her everyday to make sure she’s okay.”

Quiz! (Answers are at the bottom of this page)

Directions: Complete the sentence with the correct euphemism.

  1. Many people in the tech industry are being ________. I think it will be difficult to find a new job right away.
  2. I couldn’t afford a new car so I bought a _______ one.
  3. I need to use the ______ before the movie starts. I drank too much pop.
  4. Our grandmother __________ after a long illness.
  5. This exercise class is for __________ who still want to be active over the age of 65.
  6. His Uncle was ________ so they had to put him in a nursing home.
  7. During the wedding ceremony, the flower girl ________ and everyone laughed.
  8. My husband is ______ at the moment, but he is looking for work everyday.
  9. The horse had to be _______ after he was seriously injured.
  10. I’m going to a baby shower over the weekend for my friend who is _______ a baby girl.

Quiz answers.

  1. laid off/let go
  2. pre-owned
  3. restroom
  4. passed away
  5. senior citizens
  6. getting on
  7. passed gas
  8. between jobs
  9. put down
  10. expecting

--

--