5 Idioms about Food

Morgan P
English with Morgan
3 min readJan 29, 2023

Don’t let them egg you on!

Photo by Estúdio Bloom on Unsplash

Person 1: “Hey, how’s it going? You seem a bit stressed out.”

Person 2: “Yeah, I have a lot on my plate right now. Work, school, and family responsibilities are all piling up.”

Person 1: “I hear you. Just remember to take things with a grain of salt and try not to let it get to you.”

Person 2: “Thanks for the advice. Speaking of which, have you noticed how the boss has been buttering up the new intern lately? I wonder what they’re planning.”

Person 1: “Haha, yeah I did notice that. But don’t let it egg you on, just focus on your own tasks.”

Person 2: “Good point. By the way, have you seen the new cake that the company ordered for the team? It’s going to take the cake for the best cake we’ve ever had.”

Person 1: “I haven’t seen it yet, but I heard it’s delicious. Let’s go check it out!”

Today we’re going to be talking about idioms and the different ways they can be used in everyday conversation.

First up, we have the idiom “I have a lot on my plate.

This phrase is often used to describe a situation where someone is feeling overwhelmed by the number of tasks or responsibilities they have to handle.

For example, if you’re juggling work, school, and family obligations, you might say “I have a lot on my plate right now.”

Next, we have “Take something with a grain of salt.” This idiom is used to indicate that something should be viewed with a certain level of skepticism or caution.

It’s often used when someone is relaying information that may not be entirely accurate or trustworthy. For example, if a friend tells you a rumor about a celebrity, you might say “I’ll take that with a grain of salt.”

Moving on, we have “Butter somebody up.” This phrase is used to describe when someone is trying to flatter or compliment someone else in order to gain their favor.

For example, if you’re trying to get a raise from your boss, you might try to butter them up by praising their leadership skills.

Next, we have “Egg someone on.” This phrase is used to describe when someone is encouraging or inciting someone else to do something.

For example, if you’re at a party and someone is trying to convince you to do a keg stand, you might say “I don’t want to do it, but they’re egging me on.”

And finally, we have “Take the cake.” This phrase is used to describe when something is the best or most impressive of all the options.

For example, if you’re watching a cooking competition, you might say “That dessert really takes the cake!”

So there you have it, five idioms that you can start using in your everyday conversations. Remember, idioms can be tricky, but with a little practice, you’ll be able to use them like a pro. Thanks for reading, and don’t forget to subscribe to my Youtube channel for more idioms and other English language tips.

--

--