English for Summer (Lesson Summary)

Morgan P
English with Morgan
2 min readJun 14, 2023

Watch the video above!

Here are the expressions you learned in the video:

Summer Expressions

#1 When I travel I like to pack light.

To pack light means you don’t bring a lot of things with you when you travel.

For example: When I go away for just the weekend, I like to pack light.

#2 Come on, let’s hit the road!

To hit the road means to start your trip or to leave.

For example: Our check-in as it 3 so let’s hit the road at noon.

#3 I can’t wait to soak up the sun at the beach

To soak up the sun means you enjoy the experience and you don’t rush

For example: I’m going to soak up the sun as much as I can at the beach

#4 Wow you’re pictures are amazing. Looks like you were living it up.

To live it up means to have a really good time.

For example: This summer I’m gonna live it up! No work no stress just fun.

#5 I wanna do a beach vacation but on the cheap.

On the cheap means you do something without spending a lot of money.

For example: I’m going to Myrtle Beach on the cheap this summer.

#6 I wanna get a cabin off the beaten path.

Off the beaten path means far away from other people.

For example: We found a great restaurant off the beaten path, it’s not even on the map.

#7 When we go to New York we want to go sightseeing.

Sightseeing means you travel around and look at interesting places such as a garden or a statue.

For example: Peter and James went sightseeing in LA while they were there for work.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Bonus Prepositions:

1# Location = to

I’m going to Peru.

I’m off to Peru.

I’m heading to Peru.

#2 How long = for

I’m going to + location for + length of time.

For example: I’m going to Peru for 12 days.

#3 When= in

I’m going to Peru in 3 weeks. This means when you will leave for your trip.

#4 Specific date= on

He leaves for Ireland on August 18th.

#5 Month only = in

I’m going to France i-n August.

In the comments tell me your summer plans!

--

--