Morgan P
English with Morgan
2 min readJan 7, 2023

--

Photo by Estée Janssens on Unsplash

Are you ready to learn how to talk about your goals in English? Then keep reading and stay until the end because I’m going to share some bonus grammar!

First, let’s define what we mean by “goals.”

Goals are things that we want to achieve or accomplish in the future.

They can be short-term or long-term, personal or professional.

So, how can you talk about your goals in English?

Here are some tips:

  1. Use action verbs: Action verbs are words that describe actions or activities. When talking about your goals, use action verbs to describe what you want to do or achieve. For example: “I want to write a book.” “I want to start my own business.” “I want to learn a new language.”
  2. Use time phrases: Time phrases are words or phrases that indicate when something will happen. When talking about your goals, use time phrases to describe when you want to achieve them. For example: “I want to write a book within the next year.” “I want to start my own business by the time I’m 30.” “I want to learn a new language within the next six months.”
  3. Use “I will” or “I am going to”: To express determination or intention, you can use the phrase “I will” or “I am going to” followed by the action verb. For example: “I will write a book.” “I am going to start my own business.” “I am going to learn a new language.”
  4. Use “I hope to”: To express a desire or aspiration, you can use the phrase “I hope to” followed by the action verb. For example: “I hope to write a book one day.” “I hope to start my own business in the future.” “I hope to learn a new language someday.”

Bonus grammar

You can use the future perfect to express what you expect in the future.

Formed by using will have + the past participle

By the end of 2023 I will have made new friends, and learned more Spanish.

By the end of 2023 I will have reached all of my goals!

By using these tips, you’ll be able to talk about your goals in English with confidence and clarity. So go out there and chase your dreams!

Remember, it’s never too late to set new goals and work towards achieving them. Whether they’re big or small, personal or professional, your goals are within reach as long as you believe in yourself and take action. So don’t be afraid to dream big and set your sights on what you really want in life. You got this!

--

--