Since For Ago| English Grammar

Morgan P
English with Morgan
2 min readJul 22, 2023

In today’s lesson we will learn how to correctly use these three prepositions:

Since

For

Ago

#1 For is used to indicate a period of time

For is often used with the Present Perfect. The present perfect is used with past actions that are related to or continue into the present.

Examples:

I’ve been waiting for an hour.

I’ve been living in Maryland for a decade. A decade is 10 years.

I’ve been married for a long time.

When someone asks “How long have you lived here?”

I’ve lived in the US for 12 years.

How long have you been a plumber?

I’ve been a plumber for 10 years.

It can also be used with other verb tenses:

Present: I work out every day for 30 minutes.

Past: When I was a child I stayed with my grandparents for the summer.

Future: While I’m in New York, I will visit my cousins for a week.

#2 Since is used to refer to the starting point of actions or situations.

Use it with day/date/time

The Present Perfect is generally used in the main clause.

Examples:

I haven’t had anything to eat since breakfast.

I have lived in the US since 2019.

This restaurant has been open since 2010.

#3 Ago is used to say when past events happened, going back from today towards the past.

The verb is in the Past Tense.

Examples:

  • I came to New York two years ago.
  • I arrived at the bus stop 10 minutes ago.
  • I bought this car 10 years ago.
  • I called my doctor an hour ago.

In the comments, answer the question: How long have you been studying English?

--

--