Tweet Round-up: 2nd August 2021

Using opera to learn English pronunciation and the importance of physical exercises. Just two interesting tweets for a lazy Summer 2021…

To_Murse
English Classes For The Masses
2 min readAug 2, 2021

--

Photo by Jeremy Zero on Unsplash

Many years ago, I thought about becoming an opera singer, as I had a knack for singing and was informed I could become a professional.

Since that day, I’ve always wondered what would have happened if I had chosen that path.

So I was interested to see this tweet from @MacMillanELT. Simon Gfeller is helping people to improve their pronunciation using operatic techniques. I am in the process of looking at his talk, which I hope to try and apply some of his ideas.

We often suggest to our students that they learn songs to help master new vocabulary, but perhaps the techniques that singers use are themselves useful.

Hulk mad?

There is something about being a gym-bunny that doesn’t quite do it for me. But the gym and physical activity does provide a plethora of useful vocabulary. I saw this tweet from @EnglishTips4U and it reminded me how many of these words have become part of our everyday vocabulary.

Are there any other words from this short list that you would add? Have you ever tried to combine physical exercise with your language learning?

Feel free to comment below.

That’s it for a mini round-up this week — hopefully, they’ll be another lesson plan soon on another exciting topic!

--

--

To_Murse
English Classes For The Masses

France-based nurse-teacher-writer. Find me on Twitter @TomLennard