Engramo gets featured on and reviewed by a YouTube channel

A review by Irena Hulkova, an English teacher and YouTube creator

Engramo Team
Engramo English Blog
2 min readOct 26, 2020

--

The header of Irena’s channel: “Anglická výslovnost s Irenou” plus a picture of her in a pink t-shirt.

If you want to take a look at her video walkthrough of the app (in Czech), click here, or check out some of her videos in English.

…and here is what she says about her experience with Engramo English afterwards:

“I have tried your excellent app, Engramo, and kept returning to it over the weekend. I have to say that I really like it. I feel like it’s something different from what I normally come across in the domain of English language teaching and I love the fact that you use examples from a language corpus. In my job as a researcher at the Faculty of Education, Masaryk University, I have a very close connection to Corpus Linguistics.

What I also admire, of course, is the focus on advanced grammar; I can see your app being used by teachers of English as well, so as not to turn to complacency and, instead, to keep working on their English. I used to teach grammar and syntax here at the Department of English Language and Literature and I remember very well explaining most of the grammar phenomena Engramo has presented me with in the same way and using the same terminology. However, for the past few years, I have only been teaching phonetics and phonology, which means that I wasn’t entirely sure about some phenomena, and I liked that I could refresh my knowledge of them in this manner. The explanations you give are neat and clearly worded.

Another huge benefit is, in my opinion, the audio recordings of example sentences as well as the individual explanations; personally, I find it great that the audio was recorded by British native speakers. If we come to work together, this is what I would like to stress on my YouTube channel — that, in addition to grammar practice, Engramo offers listening to natural English heard in context, which gives users the opportunity not only to practice the pronunciation of the individual words but also hear connected speech and its features such as linking and the use of weak forms.

Another thing that appealed to me was the “misheard words and phrases” and “dad jokes” breaks as they are pleasant and enriching intermezzos, and content over and beyond the grammar offered in the app. One can never learn enough vocabulary and it doesn’t hurt having fun while doing so.”

Thank you for your kind words, Irena!

--

--

Engramo Team
Engramo English Blog

The collective, editorial profile of content creators and other members of the team behind Engramo English.