Tilting the Scale

Zach Nichols
Zach Nichols
Published in
2 min readJan 3, 2017

Dismissing New Year’s resolutions appears to be in fashion. I may be one of the remaining few who unabashedly loves setting resolutions. I love the New Year, and the fresh start it symbolizes.

I also love sharing what I’m learning and doing. When an idea or activity adds value to my life, I know it could be valuable to others. I recognize a recommendation from a trusted source can carry weight.

I usually limit my sharing to one-on-one interactions. Sharing a new idea through conversation is relatively high impact. Obviously, it provokes response. Frequently, it inspires consideration. And occasionally, it leads to adoption.

There is something to be said for personal recommendations. However, we live in a world where everyone is only one tweet, status, or post away from sharing an idea at scale. I have allowed myself to miss out on this. I am almost a non-participant on social media, which means I don’t scale my idea-sharing. One of my resolutions is to get better at this through writing.

If only five people read this, that is likely more than have read every school essay you or I have ever written. If more people read it in the future, it costs me no more time and energy. My only challenge is to bring the goods and share worthwhile ideas, because it does cost you (as my reader) time and energy to read what I write.

So here’s to tilting the scale; if you have something great to share, don’t be afraid to try and find an audience for it. You never know who may use the nudge you can provide.

Good luck with your own resolutions, whatever they may be!

--

--