How to Maneuver Jealousy in Polyamory

Avery Montgomery
Ethical Non-Monogamy and Poly
7 min readDec 21, 2023

--

Image by dahlig on DeviantArt

Jealousy was the farthest thing from my mind that first time in the swinger’s club. Of course, that wasn’t polyamory, not yet, and it wasn’t even on the agenda. It was just pure, adrenaline filled fun with the highest of sexual tensions. I watched, in person, as another man had his way with my wife. And I was not the least bit jealous. I was turned on! Way on! It was beyond hot. It was orgasmic. We have come a very long way since that first encounter. Now? Well, Sway has a boyfriend who she loves, and I have a girlfriend that I love. The days of meeting couples for a fun night of fuckery are gone. Although, fleeting thoughts do enter our minds from time to time.

Is it better? The additional commitment, the saying “no thanks” on the lifestyle apps to a hot couple that wants to play with us? In a word, Yes. For me, Yes. But is it harder? Fuck yes. Feelings are involved. Big feelings. Big emotions. And I have big emotions anyway, ask Sway, she can attest. Poor thing, I don’t know how she puts up with my emotions. She should get a metal. Maybe a gold one for Christmas? With a pineapple on it even? LOL. I did get her a ShareBear tee shirt. The people that know thought it was hilarious.

For five months Sway had someone else. Someone that wasn’t me. Someone that wasn’t a play partner for both of us, not that we have ever had a threesome (maybe we should work on…

--

--