Enonspiration #10

Enon Avital
Enonspiration השראה

--

This is both my 250th #hebrewtype, and the tenth installment of Enonspiration!

When I started this mini-series, it was just a single post to celebrate my peers. As it turns out, there are many celebrations to be had. So today I share with you people whose work is inspirational, but also make it their mission to inspire others:

Bob Ewing

Not only is Bob a great letterer, he regularly shares the work of other designers (on Twitter especially). I have a lot to learn from you, Bob.

Adventures in Design

Mark and his crew produce a daily! podcast that’s inspiring, motivational, and one of the best communities for freelancers. If you’ve ever felt alone, join the Circle of Trust. For me, it’s home.

Good Type

It takes a lot of stamina to curate daily inspiration for hundreds-of-thousands of people. Brooke’s one-woman show does so much for the lettering community, it would be impossible to thank her enough.

Creative South

A yearly inspiration meetup, run by the humble Mike Jones, and extending into Jason’s year-round podcast. Their mission is to inspire, and oh boy do they come through.

About the “Enonspiration” design

My wife often chides me, asking why I use the same “השראה” letterforms every time? Since I experiment with lettering, can’t I explore beyond the same boring old thing, she wants to know.

There are several reasons: First and foremost, this series is not about me. Sharing the work of others means the attention is on, well, others. Secondly, I hope that with the recurring letterforms you’ll recognize what my post is about. So if finding more inspiration is interesting to you, you’ll know to expand that Instagram caption when it comes into your feed. Finally, stepping away from solving the letter-shape problems allows me to experiment in other ways. Throughout this series, I get to focus on innovating with materials, which is a nice break to my usual groove.

--

--